Present: Five Minute Friday

I’m writing with the wonderful community of Five Minute Friday at Lisa-Jo‘s today, on the prompt “present.”
Five Minute Friday

I bend and look in his eyes. How many times do I rush by? How many times do my words rush by, ignoring the pleading look on his face to be seen? Sometimes, when he feels deeply, he will lash out with a unique indictment of my inability to be present: “You don’t even look at me, Mama!” For him, it is the coup de grace, the ultimate betrayal of mother to child. I look right past.

His words stun me. So I bend. This perspective feels new, down here on the floor. I’m either on my knees or wobbling slightly in a crouch, seeing chocolate brown eyes that won me over in an instant, five years ago outside of Nairobi, Kenya. I’m often on the floor to play or to read or to stretch under the couch for the Thomas the Train that is slightly out of his reach. But if I am honest, I am not on the floor often enough to see.

To see how little children need a voice. To see how being present to another isn’t a gift that is reserved for grown-ups. To see that if I offered that gift to the little and the least of these, this world would be richer for us all. To see him, in all his weakness and all his glory. He is ready for me to see him, if I would just look.

5 thoughts on “Present: Five Minute Friday

  1. Wow. And how this hurts a little, because of how it’s true in my home as well. Mine aren’t so little anymore but I am a fool to think they don’t still need my undivided attention. This is all beautiful, Elizabeth, and I’m so glad to sit here a moment.

    • Thank you for your kind words, Tresta and for taking the time to read and comment. I’m grateful. I’m glad I could make a little space for you to sit for a few moments. It’s amazing how something little, written by someone unknown, could form us more into who we were created to be. I find that every Friday as I read and try to be present to others through FMF. Thanks again!

      • Oh my…you are a beautiful writer! I love the way that your words paint pictures. My favorite: “To see how being present to another isn’t a gift that is reserved for grown-ups.” I need to, no must, remember this. That my children need quality time, play dates and intentional time.

Leave a Reply

